So I am avoiding thinking about my hypochondria issues, and today am going to focus with anxiety and cooking.

I don’t know about everyone else, but I often become anxious when cooking.  Unlike laundry, or dishes, this task presents a real degree of danger.  My goal is always to cook for that won’t make anyone sick, and that won’t burn down the house.

I am very easily distracted, so I make extensive use of timers to check on various parts of the cooking.  I initially tried that whole “stay with it continuously” thing, but enough burnt food has taught my I can’t stand there 100% of the time for 45 minutes, and timers guarantee nothing gets too far our of hand.

Not making people sick should be easy, is easy, but I worry about it.  Is the meat cooked enough, are my hands clean enough, did I properly sanitize the counter.  I think we probably have more danger from ingesting cleaning solution than actually having any contamination.

I know some people cook “for the joy of it” but overall, by the time the food is done, I am tapped out.  And after a long day of work, the last thing I want to do is worry about forgetting to turn off a burner, and burning down the house.  Especially when I know that is the thought that will be going through my head as I lay in bed trying to fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

