I sit here, for the nth day now, having applied for a bunch of jobs, and received a whole 5 rejections and two interviews in 6 months of looking, wishing I weren’t quite so smart.  People see three degrees and assume I am both over and under qualified for work.  They look for a passion I don’t have when it comes to a job, and overall I interview like crap.

I wish sometimes rather than being encouraged to all my schooling, I was encouraged as some of my friends were, to quit after high school and get a job doing something simpler.  I can challenge my mind in other ways, and in the intervening 12 years I might have settled down, and had a family, gotten a job, house, and be living a life.  Instead of what I am, sitting in my parents house with no prospects on the horizon.

Leave a Reply

